Meet Father Matthew Worthen

What inspired you to become a priest?
You might say that my vocation was, in many ways, inspired by my community in college: the priests (Msgr. Crawford, Fr. Mike Flynn, Msgr. Tugwell, Msgr. Bill Kerr), the Brothers of Hope who ran the campus ministry, and my many friends from the Catholic Student Union at Florida State University. In a very concrete way, Christ called me to the priesthood through the very real people and situations in which He placed me. If I had not had this experience, or had not been aware that Christ was coming to me through these people and circumstances, then I am certain I never would have been a priest.

What was your hometown, collage/university attended?
I wouldn’t really say that I have a “hometown.” I was born in Jackson, TN, and most of my family is from Memphis, TN. That being said, I’ve never actually lived in the same place for more than four consecutive years. Growing up we moved around quite a bit until my father retired from the Navy. My last three years of high school I lived in Jacksonville, FL, and after graduating I attended the Florida State University in Tallahassee, FL. Since college, I’ve always considered Tallahassee to be my home, but now that I’m in Pensacola, I still feel at home.

At what age did you know that you were destined to be a priest?
I knew I was destined to be a priest at the age of 26, two years before I was ordained a priest. I’ve heard stories of priests knowing that they were called to be priests when they were like 5 years old. That certainly was not me! I didn’t even seriously consider it until I was in college. In fact, I didn’t even practice my faith really until I was in college. For most of my life the Catholic church was something I only experienced on Christmas and Easter, if my grandparents happened to be in town and my parents made me go. So, naturally the priesthood was something that I never thought of.

What is the most rewarding feeling about being a priest?
This is a tough question to answer, because there are so many rewarding aspects to being a priest, even if they don’t always “feel” that way. First are foremost I would have to say celebrating the Sacraments: Mass (every day), Confessions, Anointing of the Sick, witnessing Marriages. These are all powerful opportunities as a priest to encounter Christ is a very real way, but also to encounter my people in some of the most beautiful and some of the most difficult moments in their lives. Also, to live the reality of the Sacrament of Holy Orders is very rewarding: to be, in my person, a mediator between God and people is an overwhelming and humbling reality. As one priest I know likes to say (and my experience confirms this): “EVERYTHING is better when you’re a priest…except sin.”

The Altar of St. Leo the Great

What is the most interesting experience you have had while being a priest?
There are so many: seeing people truly healed of the burden of sin when they take the Sacrament of Reconciliation seriously, seeing people miraculously and inexplicably healed after receiving the Sacrament of Anointing when the doctors said they were certainly going to die, being with parents when they must face the death of their own child, celebrating Mass with Pope Benedict XVI, being saluted by the Swiss Guard, celebrating Mass at the tomb of St. Leo the Great (in St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome) and at the crypt altar in front of the bones of St Ambrose (Basilica of St. Ambrose in Milan, Italy). I was also recently asked to offer the Opening Prayer for the rally hosted by Gov. Mitt Romney.  One of the greatest things about being a priest is that you never quite know what type of situation you will find yourself in.  Every day brings a new adventure, and I love that surprise.  My work is never boring.