Meet Father Paul Lambert

Interviewed by Jessica Pohlman

What inspired you to become a priest?
There are two priests that stand out as figures who helped me discern my call to the priesthood.
Msgr. C. Slade Crawford taught me that the priesthood was nothing short of sacrifice upon the cross. He inspired myself and others to accept the priesthood as a way to live radically the Gospel call. The other, Fr. Michael Flynn, taught me that priests are truly human beings that struggle with our lives. He gave me the confidence to seek a vocation regardless of how unworthy I felt.

What age did you know that you were destined to be a priest?
I was at the age of 20 when I really took seriously the fact I was being called to be a priest.

 What is the most rewarding feeling about being a priest?
I am invited on a constant basis into the very personal lives of people. I am invited into the great joys and the great sorrows. As I witness Christ’s presence among them, I see Christ working in their lives. I experience this at Mass, in the confessional, on sick calls, and in parish hall receptions.

What is the most interesting experience you have had while being a priest?
I remember the first time hearing the confession of a fellow priest during my first year as a priest. What a humbling experience to have someone that really is my senior show such humility.
He inspired me to hold onto humility as a way to keep myself united with Christ who did not shy
away from humiliation.

What was your hometown and college/university attended?
I was born in Port Jefferson, New York, which is located on Long Island. I attended school through 5th grade in New York and then attended middle and high school in the Tampa Bay area when we moved there. I attended Florida State University.